Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara win Pritzker Architecture Prize 2020

Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara, co-founders of Grafton Architects, have been named the 2020 laureates of the Pritzker Architecture Prize.

Farrell and McNamara were awarded the prize “for their integrity in their approach to both their buildings, as well as the way they conduct their practice,” said the Pritzker Architecture Prize jury.
The Irish architects are the fourth and fifth women to be named winners of the prestigious award. This follows Zaha Hadid, won was the sole winner in 2004, Kazuyo Sejima who won alongside Ryue Nishizawa in 2010, and Carme Pigem who won alongside Rafael Aranda and Ramón Vilalta in 2017.

Farrell and McNamara were also named the 2020 RIBA Royal Gold Medal for Architecture winners at the end of last year. The pair co-founded Grafton Architects in Dublin in 1978, and have completed buildings around the world.